Picture
Well Christmas is nearly here, and between Christmas Eve worship, weekend services, and spending time with my family, chances are I won't get a chance to do a lot of updates until after the holidays, and possibly until after the first of the year.

While the holidays can be super-busy, I do enjoy a day or two being completely off during this time.  I can't wait to spend time with my wife and son, and our families.  I'll also be diving in to some reading over the next week or two, and I'm excited about the two books I'm hoping to make some headway in.

The first is Sustainable Youth Ministry by Mark Devries.  I'm really hoping that 2011 is the year that by God's grace we're able to craft a healthy youth ministry structure at FBCCS.  I'm a chapter in, and I'm already loving it! For more info, click here.

The second book is Love is an Orientation by Andrew Marin.  This book is all about building bridges between the mainstream church in America and the Gay/Lesbian/Bisexual/Transsexual population.  For whatever reason God has placed several young gay/lesbian students in my life and I want to make sure I'm doing the best I can to minister to and love them, and this book comes highly recommended from several youth ministry friends.  For more info, click here.

Merry Christmas to you all - I hope the holidays are amazing for you and your families!

- Tim B.
12/24/2010 12:23:40 am

Two good picks. That second book I found particularly challenging. I don't agree with everything he says but it was helpful to hear another perspective on the issue. Hope you'll share some reviews of these with us in the new year. Merry Christmas.

Reply
12/28/2010 02:50:20 pm

I haven't read either, but I've heard good things.

I am seriously thinking about going to grab Love is an Orientation. It's such an important topic, and I'm afraid that I'm grossly under-informed. Let us know how it is.

Reply



Leave a Reply.