Picture
On January first, I officially reached the ten-year mark of serving in Youth Ministry (in some way, shape, or form).

On January 1st of 2001 I started as "Youth Intern" at First Baptist Church of Fairfield under the youth minister there (shout out Chad Ricks!).  My primary responsibilities were developing worship for the youth group, leading the junior high guys' Sunday School class, and occasionally helping plan events/activities.  I learned a TON in my time at FBCF, due in no small part to the fact that I had only been a Christian about 6 months when I started interning.  I'm so thankful that I was surrounded by patient, discipleship-minded people who were willing to take a chance on me and encourage God's calling in my life.

Since then I've worked at camps and in various church settings doing a myriad of things, but always tied to or directly involved in YM.  I landed in full-time YM+ (youth ministry PLUS other jobs that come with being on staff at a smaller church, i.e. worship, tech, media, etc.) at First Baptist Church of Cold Spring in October of 2005, a little over 5 years ago.

Aside from all I've experienced in Youth Ministry, in the last ten years I've also married my beautiful wife, graduated college, and welcomed Grayson - my son - into the world.  It's safe to say that the last decade has been the MOST important, definitive, life-changing, insert-a-thousand-other-profound-adjectives-here of my life!

I'm hoping to write several posts over the next month or two reflecting on my experiences so far in YM and my thoughts on the future.  There's a lot going on on the inside of me right now, and I'm expecting God to do some amazing things in the very near future!

Thanks for reading this blog and my ramblings here, and if you're on the YM journey with me, I encourage you to stay faithful and walk strong - there's a generation out there that needs the men and women God is calling to reach them!

More coming soon...

- Tim



Leave a Reply.